Question on Brain Surgery

This is exactly why I created the forum and hope it takes off. Glenda left a comment on my post titled ‘Craniectomy‘ and I didn’t see it for a while and it was never replied to.

Here is the question…

“Hi, this is great information and thanks for sharing. My husband (51 y/o), had an emergency craniectomy In early November due to a stroke in his cerebellum. This happened two days after having elective heart surgery to repair a thoracic aneurysm. Yes, 2 days later. Thank God he was still in ICU and caught just in time. He’s experiencing a lot of what was posted here, neck stiffness, neck pain, sometimes headaches. These are always worse in the morning. Did anyone find any kind of pillows, sleep positions or anything else that helped with the neck pain. He’s 1 1/2 months post-op, so I know pain is expected but just trying to see if anyone has any good advice. Thank you all for your input!”

Glenda, I don’t if you will see this but maybe some advice can be offered. I could tell you some things from a PT perspective that would help neck pain in general and pillow suggestions and stuff like that, but quite frankly I don’t know if any of it would apply when talking about post-op from brain surgery.

If you see this – how is your husband doing now? It’s been a year and a half since you left this comment.



Categories: Brain stuff, Stroke stuff

Tags: , , ,

Say things.................